Day 2: Wrap up


This is the final entry that I posted on Day 2 of Anime North 2011. It was written at 12:55 AM (Technically on Day 3) and is about the events of that day. Enjoy:

12:55 AM:
Day 2 Wrap up
So, Day is now over – Obviously, it’s 12:55 AM. So, why don’t I explain what happened to me the rest of the day. Well, I stayed upstairs for a while I rested and slowly got changed into my fursuit. I had problems as I discussed earlier, but I decided to give it go anyway. Sadly, I didn’t make it far before I had to trim her purple hair. It was getting in-front of the the eye holes and making it very hard to see. I’d love to remove the hair all together, but sadly I cannot. So I had to make do with that I had.

Still, visibility wasn’t good enough to walk down the street with the head on. So I carried it down to the Sheraton. There, I put it on and tried to move around in costume. Sadly, by that time I was very hot and seeing was almost impossible. So, I floundered around for a while before giving it another go. And eventually, I made it back to the Doubletree with my head on. (I didn’t have it on the entire time).

Once I made the trek back to the Staff Lounge, I didn’t really leave until later on that night. I stayed and watched the room and did a few tasks. Mostly though, it meant that I sat and talked to the different staff members who came by. So, it was actually a lot of fun.

It is interesting that the most comments that I got about my costume were while inside the staff lounge – while I happened to be partially out of costume. I had my head off and my coat off, as well as my shoes. So it wasn’t the full effect. My only guess as to why is that not many staffers dress in costume. I’d say about 15 to 25 percent do. Most of those are younger. So maybe it just something unusual in the lounge. Either way, it’s interesting!

After spending a few hours working there on Friday and all the time I clocked today – I have provably made my quota. That doesn’t mean I won’t come back tomorrow. I will most likely take a panel or two in then head back and watch the room until the end of the final day of Anime North.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment